Roast Chicken with Caramelized Shallots

I’ve been meaning to make this chicken for quite some time now. I ripped the recipe from David Lebovitz…well actually he ripped it from the  French Farmhouse Cookbook…isn’t that just how recipe development goes though?

Back to David.

I think he’s great. He worked alongside legendary Alice Waters of Chez Panisse for years and is now living all fabulous in Paris doing fabulous food things. A life I do envy.

DSC_0279

I figured anything he suggested for my dinner would be perfect. It was almost perfect. Don’t get me wrong- this roast chicken was absolutely incredible. The mild, caramelized sweetness from the shallots was perfect and filled my whole house with the most welcoming of aromas. My only qualm was the skin. I believe I’ve mentioned this before. I have an aversion to chewy chicken skin. It must either be perfectly crisped like on my buttermilk roast chicken or not there at all. I listened to David’s cooking method and immediately regretted it. The skin was chewy. Not cool, David.

So I made a couple of easy changes. David achieved his full shallot flavor by flipping the chicken halfway through cooking. I believe this is what stopped the crisping and led to chewiness. Instead, I’ve decided to marinate it beforehand to get an extra deep shallot taste. This way, I can cook the chicken skin-side up the whole time and get it allll nice and crispy. I wrote the recipe with my changes.

Unfortunately, my chicken picture is the one with the chewy skin, but don’t judge. It’s still yummy!

Roast Chicken with Caramelized ShallotsDSC_0252

Adapted from David Lebovitz

  • 4 tablespoons olive oil
  • 4 tablespoons sherry vinegar
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 4 large shallots, peeled and minced
  • sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 6-8 pieces of your favorite bone-in chicken parts (I used thighs)
  • chopped parsley (optional…since I forgot to do it…)

1. Mix the oil, vinegar, soy sauce, shallots, salt and pepper in a freezer bag.

2. Rinse and dry the chicken pieces. Toss them into the bag and move them around in the marinade so that all pieces are covered with the yumminess. Allow the chicken to marinade for at least a few hours.

3. When your chicken is ready, preheat the oven to 425ºF. In a baking dish, arrange the chicken pieces, skin side up, in a single layer. Pour all the marinade over the chicken being sure to completely coat the tops with shallots.

4. Roast the chicken for about 30-35 minutes (approximately 35 to 40 for breasts). Occasionally, scrape up any juices and shallots that are stuck to the pan and drizzle them over the cooking pieces. Bake until the pieces are cooked through and the shallots are nicely caramelized.

5. I served the chicken with a roasted garlic potato puree and sauteed asparagus. David Lebovitz recommends tossing the pieces with a bit of parsley. That would probably be good, but I started diving into these bad boys before I remembered to that. ‘Twas still scrumptious.

2 thoughts on “Roast Chicken with Caramelized Shallots

  1. first of all, your pictures are GORGEOUS! secondly, this sounds amazing; totally pinned it. it’s so nice to see another recipe from you, and such a great one for a comeback. keep it up! YUM! 🙂

    • Thanks Casam! Natural light is my friend. Pictures turn out not so great on a dark winter evening. I think the well lit evenings are providing new motivation 😉 If you make it with the changes, let me know how it turns out! … I want to tweak this one til I get it right!

Leave a Reply

