Maple-Glazed Carrot Spice Scones

I’ve truly mastered the art of staying in bed as long as I possibly can. I have officially cut down my morning getting ready time from 1 hour to an incredible 30 minutes. All for the sake of staying warm under my covers for a few more blessed minutes.

Impressive, I know.

My husband has given in to the unfortunate truth that I will most likely never stop routinely cutting it close to being late for school. Such a responsible teacher I am. Anyway, he has taken it upon himself to make me coffee and a smoothie every morning before I have to run out the door in a frenzy… if that isn’t love, I don’t know what is.

DSC_0459

Anyway. These here scones.

I have made it to spring break alive and without being late to school yet. A great feat indeed.

I wanted to make a little thank you breakfast for Michael since he has to go to school while I’m here chillin’ at home with my cat. This time I would be the sweet one. In my usual lazy sort of way, I prepped the dough the night before so all I’d have to do in the morning was pop it in the oven and make the glaze. Go me!

And then I overslept. He left before I could get them in the oven or even make the coffee. Fail. Ugh.

So I ended up making these darling scones while he was gone. And enjoyed them. And ate a shameful number of them. I dipped them in the glaze that dripped down onto the counter. Then ate some glaze with my finger. I was close to licking the cooling rack but thought better of it.

I saved him some. It’s the thought that counts…?

DSC_0440

Maple-Glazed Carrot Spice Scones

Adapted from tutti-dolci.com

SconesDSC_0468

  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/4 cup chilled unsalted butter
  • 1 cup grated carrots
  • 1/2 cup buttermilk
  • 1 large cage-free egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

ABSOLUTELY DO NOT SKIP THE GLAZE.

Brown Butter Glaze 

(No judgment if you double this.)

  • 1 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup powdered sugar, sifted
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 1/2 tbsp milk or cream

1. Preheat oven to 400°F and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

2. Whisk together flours,baking powder, baking soda, sugar,  salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and ginger in a large bowl.

3. Cut butter into 1/2-inch pieces. In a food processor, pulse the flour mixture with the butter until the mixture resembles coarse meal. Fold carrots into the flour mixture.

DSC_0328

4. Whisk together buttermilk, egg, and vanilla in a small bowl; add to flour mixture and fold in until just incorporated.

5. Scrape the dough onto the prepared baking sheet. Use either a lightly floured rolling pin or your hands to roll the dough into an 8-by-10-inch rectangle. (My dough got really sticky which made it virtually impossible to do this. I just used my hands. Just be sure that the dough is the same thickness all around!)

6. Score the rectangle into 12 squares. Then, score each square across the diagonal to create 24 triangles.

DSC_0329

7. Bake 12 to 14 minutes or until golden. Cool 2 minutes on baking sheet, then carefully transfer the scones to a wire rack to cool before slicing into wedges.

Glaze:

1. Place butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. Cook, stirring constantly, until it foams, turns clear, and then turns a deep brown, about 4-6 minutes. Cool slightly.

2. Sift powdered sugar into a small bowl. Whisk in browned butter, maple syrup, and milk until smooth.

3. Drizzle the glaze over the scones. You should probably let it set before serving…but I wanted to eat mine warm and gooey.

DSC_0451

2 thoughts on “Maple-Glazed Carrot Spice Scones

Leave a Reply

